Happy new year!

Well then, 2016! Here you are, hey?

I love the start of the new year.

Melbourne is so quiet at this time of year. The start of January means an empty city, to me. The streets are operating with a skeleton staff, while everyone is off on their summer holidays.

I love being at home in Melbourne at this time of year. I love how easy it is to get a parking space, and how quick & simple it is to get around the city – no traffic! Of course, there are the downsides, like some of our favourite restaurants being closed for the Christmas break, and the occasional 42°C days (that’s 104°F for my American friends)… but on the whole, I really do love being in Melbourne at this time of year.

I’m spending the start of 2016 putting the final touches on the next collection for my label, Joolz. It is such an exciting time during the creative process, when you can see all your ideas & concepts finally taking shape. I still have a couple of pieces to pick up from the makers (and I still need to photograph those), and I really need to update the website too. Hahaha the joys of small business ownership!

So there is still plenty to do before thinking about a launch party for the new collection! But I have to admit, that party is also on my mind… I do love a good party 🙂 I had a venue in mind, but I’ve been having difficulties getting through to the manager, so I may need to abandon that option and find somewhere else.

So, I hope those of you who are working at this time of year are enjoying what you do, and for those of you on holidays, soak it up!

And if you want a little sneak preview of what’s to come, you can check out what’s going on over at my etsy store 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

